The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp

Sutter Keely is your typical, all-American high school guy who’s the life of the party, the ex-boyfriend girls like to stay friends with, the big guy other big guys go to for relationship advice. He lives each day as it comes without a care in the world. Sutter Keely also can’t let a day pass without a drink of his favorite concoction: 7Up spiked with whisky. Or whisky with 7Up. Whatever.

On a seriously heavy drinking binge, he passes out on a random lawn and wakes up to see Aimee Finecky, a girl from school, looking down at him with worried eyes. As Sutter gets to know her, he decides she is the smartest, sweetest, most gentle, but biggest pushover and most naive girl he’s ever known. And she could NOT possibly fall in love and end up with a wreck like him. 

The Spectacular Now is not THAT spectacular. It’s an okay book; sweet, sad, fun, angsty. Fans of David Levithan or John Green should enjoy this. The only thing I don’t like about it is how it basically glorifies teenage drinking and casual sex. But our main character Sutter Keely is a deep, charismatic and caring guy, and Aimee is the ying to his yang. The ending is the most realistic ending, but somehow it still upset me and I wanted to give good ole Sutter a big sisterly hug.

Image

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s